Import & export
Publishing a project
To publish a project, open the notebook you would like to publish. In the upper right-hand corner select "Share & publish" and then select "Open publishing editor".
The Article layout has a more readable layout and a table of contents. This is a great choice for publishing a research paper blog post. The Dashboard layout is wider and allows you to resize and place blocks wherever you like.
Note that only one notebook can be published per project. In order to publish multiple notebooks, split your work across multiple projects.
Just like you can set the access rights for your project, you can set the access rights for your publication. For example, it is possible to have a private project which is published publicly. In this case, no one will be able to open and edit your project; however, the published version of the notebook will be visible to anyone. Visibility of the published project can be set through the Visibility dropdown in the Publishing Editor.
The following access levels are available:
- Public. Your notebook is visible in your public profile and can be indexed by search engines. Everyone can access the publication, re-run it, and modify any input cells. This is useful if you would like others to come across your work.
- Anyone with a link. Only people with whom you share the link can access the published project. It is hidden from your public profile and search engines.
- Team & collaborators. The only people who can view the publication are the ones who have access to the original project. This will depend on your project sharing settings.
When you publish a notebook in your project, you can decide whether to allow others to duplicate it. If you allow duplication, then anybody who duplicates your project project will have access to all the notebooks and files (images, CSVs, etc.) that were present in the project at the time of publication.
The following items will NOT be exposed when your project is duplicated:
- Project integrations (e.g. BigQuery) and any integration credentials. This includes Environment Variables.
- Any items that were added to the project after it has been published. These items will not show up unless the project is republished.
Your notebook is not automatically republished whenever you make changes to it. In order to republish your notebook with the latest changes, go to the Publishing Editor and click on Publish Changes.
The URL of the published project stays the same after republishing, so you don't have to worry about sharing a new URL with your audience.
You can allow your project to be republished automatically after a scheduled run. This is great for dashboards that you would like to keep up to date. Read more about scheduling here.
Published projects are fully interactive. This means you can create apps or dashboards that require real-time user input.
All published projects that contain an input block are interactive by default.
- Whenever a user interacts with an Input block (e.g. a dropdown menu, a text input) and then clicks on Apply, the whole notebook is run with the new input values.
- Every run is stateless. This means that one user interacting with a publication does not interfere with the runs of any other user.
- Interactive runs are free. This means you are not charged when users interact with your publication.
Note that interactivity of published projects is still heavily in development. Some features that otherwise work in non-published notebook environment may not be supported yet. If you ever come across such issues, reach out to us at email@example.com.
- There is an execution limit of 40 seconds. After 40 seconds, the user of the published project will see an error and the execution stops.
- Custom environments are currently not supported. All interactive notebooks are run within our default Python 3.7 environment.
- Not all integrations are currently supported. Supported integrations include database integrations like Postgres or Snowflake.
You can showcase all of your published notebooks in your public profile, so others can come across your work, follow you, and give you likes!
All published projects with visibility set to Public will automatically appear in your profile.
Note that you can unpublish a notebook at any time by going to Publishing Editor, selecting Off in the visibility settings and clicking on Unpublish.